How to Register With The Utah OneStop Business - AbstractOps

How to Register With The Utah OneStop Business

We explain the various reasons you may need to register with Utah's Secretary of State.

Summary

The fact that you may need to register with state agencies like Utah OneStop Business is a sneaky misconception that many folks miss.

However, with the rise of remote work, states have begun cracking down and levying penalties for those who (unknowingly) fail to register.

If you're considering operating in Utah, use this guide to:

What criteria would trigger the requirement to register with the Utah OneStop Business?

Key Factors

Physical Presence: The following indicate strong physical presence in Utah:

Economic Activity: These economic activities also suggest you're doing business in Utah:

Specific Examples

The following activities would likely be considered doing business in Utah:

Nexus and Remote Sellers

Utah follows the concept of nexus, meaning a sufficient connection (physical or economic) to the state creates a tax obligation. Remote sellers might have to collect sales tax if they exceed certain economic thresholds even without a physical presence.

Where do I register, and what else is required?

Utah OneStop Business

In addition:

What is the registration fee?

The fee charged by Utah is $48.

How long does Utah usually take to process?

Utah usually takes approximately 2 - 3 weeks to process registrations.

What is required ongoing?

Each state has a complex schedule of required annual reports, which can vary by entity type. Let's take a look at Utah's:

C-Corporation

LLC

Non-Profit

There is an Easier Way

This guide should definitely help reduce some of the confusion for Utah. However, if you have multiple states to worry about, you may look to:

Note: For the avoidance of doubt, nothing provided here shall contemplate, constitute or include tax or legal advice. Always double check with state agency websites for the most up-to-date requirements.